AmazonTote: a spiffy free service for Seattleites

October 4, 2010 at 11:14 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

Yesterday as I was making a purchase on Amazon, I noticed this little box for the first time:

AmazonTote boxI’m not sure how long it has been there, but I certainly hadn’t seen it before. I asked Blake about it — since he’s usually pretty up-to-date on Amazon’s many, many services — but he’d never heard of it. So I clicked the Learn More link and here’s what I found:

Amazon Tote explanationApparently this nifty service is available in only twenty-one Seattle zip codes (and nowhere else in the world), and we’re among them! Upon further reading, I learned that AmazonTote operates via the same infrastructure as AmazonFresh. Here’s how it works: rather than me paying for shipping, our zip code has a weekly delivery day when there will be an AmazonFresh truck in our area already. As long as I’m willing to wait until that day to receive my items, I can add items to my tote bag and they’ll all be delivered to my doorstep. (Though at the moment we have a lobby and door where we buzz people in instead of a doorstep.) Not only that, then I get a cute AmazonTote tote bag for free. =)

Since we would like a tote bag and this service isn’t offered in our new house’s zip code, we decided that this was the time to try out AmazonTote. So I ordered a paperback I’ve been wanting and it will be delivered for free on Saturday. Neat.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

