Guess what I got at Uwajimaya

December 23, 2010 at 1:53 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

No, seriously. Guess. Because I sure don’t know what it is.

The mystery item

The mystery item

Some sort of decorative Japanese bird feeder? This helpful side panel shows the item’s many features:

The mystery item - sideview

At least it's 100%!

Maybe the instructions will help.

The mystery item - back

This looks easy.

Are these instructions also? The price tag at the store had the word “mochi,” on it, and I know I like mochi. Maybe I cook it?

The mystery item - rear instructions

I guess I boil or bake something.

Note that the English nutritional-info sticker has the longest word I’ve ever seen on it: “takayamamochimarumochi.”

Nutritional information

Looks nutritious.

At the store I asked about six Asian employees what it was. Unfortunately, none of the people I asked turned out to be Japanese, and I got answers ranging from “I don’t know” to “Japanese … new year … rice … for good luck” A quick search for all those words in Google eventually led me to the word kagamimochi, which is apparently what this thing is. Stay tuned for the exciting conclusion in which we open the box!

 

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The wiki pretty much hit it on the head. I believe some families use the mochi on New Year’s day in their Ozoni soup.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

